Borrowing Policies Details

Information by audience type on what you can borrow, which services you can use, fines and more.

Borrowing Materials

You need a Dartmouth ID or library card to check out material. Any users, regardless of their position at the College, will be refused the opportunity to check material out without ID. IDs and library cards are not transferable. Faculty members or APIs who would like to authorize a research assistant to borrow library materials may do so at any Circulation Desk.

Library Loan Policies
Faculty, staff, students and alumni can borrow most circulating materials for 365 days. The exceptions are equipment and reserves. Guest borrowers and other users not affiliated with Dartmouth have a 28-day loan period. 

Details on Borrowing Privileges

Faculty, Visting Faculty, Staff and Students (PDF)
Alumni (PDF)
Employee Families (PDF)
Retired Staff (PDF)
Visiting Scholars/Courtesy Appointments (PDF)
Osher@Dartmouth Students and Instructors (PDF)
Local High School Students (PDF)
Guest Borrower (PDF)
Corporate Guest Borrower (PDF)

Contact the Circulation Desks
Baker-Berry & Sherman: 603-646-2567; baker.circulation@dartmouth.edu
Kresge: 603-646-3563; kresge.library.reference@dartmouth.edu
Feldberg: 603-646-2191; feldberg.circulation@dartmouth.edu

Biomedical Libraries Policies
Dana Circulation: 603-650-1658; dana.library.circulation@dartmouth.edu
Matthews-Fuller Circulation: 603-650-7658; matthews.fuller.library.circulation@dartmouth.edu

Evans Map Room Policies
603-646-2579; map.room@dartmouth.edu

Jones Media Center Policies

  • DVDs, VHS, CDs, CDRom, VCD, etc can borrow for 365 days.
  • OTC & Pro Equipment: 3 days, $20/day late fines,(limit based on need)
  • Tabletop & Video Games: 7 days, $5/day late fines
  • Game consoles: 7 days, $20/day

603-646-2165; jones.media.center@dartmouth.edu

Paddock Library Policies
603-646-3234; paddock.music.library@dartmouth.edu

Rauner Special Collections
603-646-0538; rauner.special.collections.library@dartmouth.edu

Renewals

Most items may be renewed as many times as needed via phone, email, in person, or by signing into your account. (Exceptions include recalls, course reserves and non-print materials. These must be physically returned.)

    Recalls

    You may request a recall at any Circulation Desk. We will notify the current user, and once it has been returned we will send you a hold pick-up notice. Books are eligible for recall after 14 days, journals after one day.

    Items recalled by reserve services are due immediately. Resource sharing (BorrowDirect and DartDoc) items are due in five days. Failure to return items promptly may result in blocked privileges. Return items or we will charge you $1.00 per day, per item. Recalled items cannot be renewed. This is a year-round policy. To avoid overdue fines and/or blocked accounts return all items before you leave campus.